A little bit of happiness

Friends are always wonderful, but sometimes when you move away and miss them the most, they come bounding up in your face like a happy puppy, making you wonder why you thought it was reasonable to leave them in the first place.

Today I got a package in the mail.  It was the size of a small shoe box and the return address was for a friend who lives on Cape Breton Island.  My friend had emailed me a couple of weeks ago asking for my new address and saying she had a surprise for me.

Tim and I wondered what it was and at our stage in life, finally concluded it must be a wedding invitation.  Then we got the box.

This spring my friend and I had gone shopping and she, thankfully, kept me from buying an expensive dress I fell in love with, but as a graduate student, couldn’t really afford.  At the end of summer, she found the same dress still in the store and by then it was on sale.  She bought the pretty dress for me and mailed it to Ottawa!

Aren’t friends lovely?  I miss you, Nova Scotia.

By the by, I’m wearing the dress right now.

Leave a comment