Here goes.

photo by János Fehér

I went to trivia once in the last year.  It was last fall and I was with two friends.  Some of their friends joined us later in the evening.  A quiet man about ten years older than me sat down on my left.  We didn’t say much to one another for a while, focusing instead on drawing a blank for each new trivia question.  Between rounds we shook hands and introduced ourselves.  He was visiting Dalhousie and had, that evening, delivered a free public lecture.  I asked him what he does.  The lecture was on the topic of a recent book, but his daily work was as the managing editor at one of Canada’s big newspapers.

Struck by this chance to talk writing with an expert, I told him my dream of being a writer.  His whole countenance changed as he absorbed my excitement.  I worried I would bother him with my inexperienced ramblings and questions, but he seemed totally charmed and offered advice.

“Start writing”, he said.  “Write for the school newspaper.  And start a blog.  Cite and link to other people’s work.  People will read what you wrote to see what you were saying about their work.”

Almost a year later, we’re still in touch and I did start writing for the school newspaper (http://dalgazette.com/category/opinions/science-column/).  Now it’s on to the next step – the first post of my new blog.  Here goes.

Leave a comment